Comedian Nick Vatterott wins Andy Kaufman Award

While Will Ferrell recently earned one of comedy’s highest honors in the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, there’s another prestigious comedy award that isn’t as well known, but, arguably, just as intriguing. Every year, the Andy Kaufman Award is given to comedians that embody the boldness and originality in spirit of the comedy legend from which it carries its name. Past winners undoubtedly fit the bill as they include some of comedy’s most cutting edge names with Kristen Schaal, Reggie Watts, Brent Weinbach, and more.

This year, hilarious Nick Vatterott took home the Andy Kaufman Award after winning the final round at the Gotham Comedy Club in New York. His initial submission for the award featured him doing stand-up as a monster, which couldn’t be more fitting for the contest’s mission statement. Watch the clip below then watch Vatterott undoubtedly rise to the ranks of past winners.

Jake Kroeger

Jake Kroeger has dedicated his life, for better or probably worse, to comedy. Starting and continually running the Comedy Bureau, a voice for LA comedy, by himself, he also writes and performs stand-up comedy in LA and watches more live comedy than is probably humanly tolerable. He's been a daily contributor to Punchline Magazine, now because he loves and believes in comedy so much. Said of Kroeger, "...without his dangerously insane, unhealthy work ethic, certain comics would not have any press at all."

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien