• Will Ferrell to receive Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

    Will Ferrell has been chosen to receive an award for his achievements in comedy, and it’s kind of a big deal. The prolific comedic actor, writer, and producer will receive the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, joining the likes of Richard Pryor, George Carlin, Steve Martin, Lorne Michaels as past recipients. The award ceremony will take place Oct. 23 at the Kennedy Center in Washington DC and will be a broadcast on PBS on Oct. 31. Honoring Ferrell will be a slew of huge comedy names including Jack Black, Conan O’Brien, Larry King, Maya Rudolph and Molly Shannon.

    If that’s not enough, also making appearances on the night are collaborators Adam McKay, John C. Reilly, Michaels, Paul Rudd, and the contemporary punk legends Green Day. Among Ferrell’s most notable achievements are his seven-year run as a cast member on Saturday Night Live, starring in the films Anchorman, Talladega Nights and Step Brothers, and being the co-founder of Funny Or Die.

    Erik Gavilanes

    Erik's love of comedy was formed at a much-too-early age when he would tape hours of stand-up even though he didn't get many of the jokes. Today when not writing for Laughspin, he checks his Twitter feed and is a getter of jokes and eater of pizza.

    WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien